We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Coronation Stakes History

The Coronation Stakes is a Group One race run at Royal Ascot over one mile and is open to three-year-old fillies.

Established in 1840, the race was run to commemorate the coronation of Queen Victoria and eventually gained Group One status in 1988 and is now one of the leading fixtures for fillies throughout the whole season.

Taking place on the fourth day of Royal Ascot the Coronation Stakes usually attracts many runners who have contested the 1000 Guineas earlier in the season and many have managed to bag both events. 

One name that stands out in the early decades of the race is Pretty Polly, who won the 1000 Guineas before bagging glory in the Coronation Stakes and also the Epsom Oaks and Nassau Stakes all in the same season.

More recently Ridgewood Pearl won the Irish 1000 Guineas en route to Royal Ascot and breezed to Coronation Stakes success for trainer John Oxx.  At the turn of the century Russian Rhythm won the 2003 renewal after winning the Epsom Classic before venturing on to Glorious Goodwood to win the Nassau Stakes and more Group One glory.

Attracting more and more European runners it was Robert Collet's French raider Immortal Verse who won the 2011 Coronation Stakes to show that the race now has a strong international look to it.

Recent Winners of Coronation Stakes

  • 2000 - Crimplene
  • 2001 - Banks Hill
  • 2002 - Sophisticat
  • 2003 - Russian Rhythm
  • 2004 - Attraction
  • 2005 - Maids Causeway
  • 2006 - Nannina
  • 2007 - Indian Ink
  • 2008 - Lush Lashes
  • 2009 - Ghanaati
  • 2010 - Lillie Langtry
  • 2011 - Immortal Verse
  • 2012 - Fallen For You
  • 2013 - Sky Lantern
  • 2014 - Rizeena