We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Cornwallis Stakes History

The Cornwallis Stakes is a Group Three race run at Ascot over five furlongs for two-year-old horses.

Established in 1946, it was originally run over six furlongs but was eventually cut to its current distance in 1957 and was given Group Three Status in 1971.

Usually attracting a competitive field the Cornwallis Stakes often unearths some potential horse racing stars and one name that jumps out in the race's recent history comes from the 2009 renewal.

Sole Power finished a disappointing eighth behind winner Our Jonathan in the race, but showed he was a sprinting star when going on to win the Group One Nunthorpe Stakes at York's Ebor Festival the following year for trainer Edward Lynam.

The legendary duo of Lester Piggott and Joe Mercer sit tied at the top of� the leading jockeys' standings for the race, but more recently Martin Dwyer joined the pair on three winners in the race following wins aboard Halmahera in 1997, Dominica in 2001 and Alzerra in 2006, who won for Mick Channon.

Recent Winners of Cornwallis Stakes

  • 2000 - Danehurst
  • 2001 - Dominica
  • 2002 - Peace Offering
  • 2003 - Majestic Missile
  • 2004 - Castelletto
  • 2005 - Hunter Street
  • 2006 - Alzerra
  • 2007 - Captain Gerrard
  • 2008 - Amour Propre
  • 2009 - Our Jonathan
  • 2010 - Electric Waves
  • 2011 - Ponty Acclaim
  • 2012 - Bungle Inthejungle
  • 2013 - Hot Streak
  • 2014 - Royal Razalma