We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Coral Cup History

The Coral Cup is a handicap hurdle run on day two of the Cheltenham Festival over two miles, five furlongs for horses aged four years or older.

Established in 1993, the Coral Cup is one of the most fiercely contested races over the whole four days with numbers in excess of 25 battling it out for festival glory.  Attracting both proven handicappers and up-and-coming stars of the national hunt sphere, the Coral Cup has always been an interesting betting prospect for punters.

Olympian was the inaugural winner of the Coral Cup for trainer Martin Pipe and jockey Peter Scudamore and managed to win a £50,000 bonus for winning the Cheltenham Festival contest as well as the Imperial Cup that took place at Sandown Park a week previously.

Any horse who can manage to win the Imperial Cup and then head to Prestbury Park the following week and win a festival race usually gains a bonus, with trainers plotting out potential races.  The Coral Cup, Fred Winter Handicap Hurdle and the County Hurdle are often the three races that trainers will look to for attempting to win the bonus on offer from Coral.

What's Up Boys used the Coral Cup as a springboard to bigger and better things and following his success in the 2000 renewal, the Philip Hobbs-trainer runner went on to finish second in the 2002 Grand National behind Bindaree.

Monkerhostin was a classy winner of the 2004 renewal and went on to finish fourth in 2007 Cheltenham Gold Cuo behind Kauto Star, whilst Carlito Brigante was one of the most impressive winners of the race in 2011 as he stormed clear to win by six lengths.

2015 Coral Cup Runners and Form

Attracting big fields the Coral Cup is an ultra-competitive race and one of the most fiercely contested at the Cheltenham Festival, but we will be keeping an eye on any potential form lines for the race, as well as providing a detailed list of the runners going to post for the 2013 renewal.

Recent Winners of Coral Cup

  • 2000 - What's Up Boys
  • 2001 - No Race
  • 2002 - Ilnamar
  • 2003 - Xenophon
  • 2004 - Monkerhostin
  • 2005 - Idole First
  • 2006 - Sky's The Limit
  • 2007 - Burntoakboy
  • 2008 - Naiad du Misselot
  • 2009 - Ninetieth Minute
  • 2010 - Spirit River
  • 2011 - Carlito Brigante
  • 2012 - Son Of Flicka
  • 2013 - Medinas
  • 2014 - Whisper