We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Champion Novice Hurdle History

The Champion Novice Hurdle is a Grade One race run at the Punchestown Festival over two miles for horses aged five years or older.

One of the highlights of the Festival, this race has always attracted a stellar field and the roll of honour just highlights this with some of the leading national hunt stars in recent memory bagging glory in this before going on to greater things later on in their career.

Paddy Mullins' wonder mare Dawn Run was a tremendous winner of this race in 1983 and she went on to become the only horse ever to win both the Champion Hurdle and Cheltenham Gold Cup during a star-studded career.  After winning this race in 1983, she went on to Champion Hurdle glory in 1984 before being sent over fences and recording a Gold Cup success in 1986.

More recently, there have been some equally as eyecatching winners of this Grade One event with Jessica Harrington's Moscow Flyer taking the prize in 2000.  One of Ireland's greatest racehorses, the gelding then went on to become a revelation over fences notching up two Queen Mother Champion Chase crowns along with a plethora of Grade One races during an awesome jumping career.

Colm Murphy's Brave Inca had already won the 2004 Supreme Novices' Hurdle at the Cheltenham Festival before securing victory in this race and he built on the coveted double by going on to lift the 2006 Champion Hurdle crown.

Another Irish star to achieve that feat was Willie Mullins' Hurricane Fly, who won this race in 2009 before storming to Champion Hurdle glory in 2011 to add yet more depth to a race that constantly produces national hunt stars.

Recent Winners of Champion Novice Hurdle

  • 2000 - Moscow Flyer
  • 2001 - Ned Kelly
  • 2002 - Scottish Memories
  • 2003 - Back In Front
  • 2004 - Brave Inca
  • 2005 - Wild Passion
  • 2006 - Iktitaf
  • 2007 - Clopf
  • 2008 - Jered
  • 2009 - Hurricane Fly
  • 2010 - Blackstairmountain
  • 2011 - Shot From The Hip
  • 2012 - Alderwood
  • 2013 - Jezki