Byrne Group Plate History

The Byrne Group Plate is a Grade Three handicap chase run on day three of the Cheltenham Festival over two miles, five furlongs for horses aged five years or older.

Established in 1951, it had originally be known as the Mildmay of Flete Handicap Chase, but is now run under the sponsorship of Byrne Group, who started sponsoring the race in 2010.

Amazingly, the inaugural running of this contest ended up in a dead-heat with Canford and Slender having to share the honours and since then it has always been an ultra-competitive contest with huge fields usually going to post.

Two horses have managed to win two renewals of the race with Nicky Henderson's The Tsarevich winning the 1985 and 1986 races, whilst Elfast won in 1992 and 1994 for trainer John Webber.  Henderson is one of three trainers who have managed to saddle four winners of the race and sits alongside the legendary duo of Bobby Renton and Martin Pipe.

Pipe's last winner of the race came in 2002 and it was a quite notable one as he and a youthful Ruby Walsh teamed up with Blowing Wind to win the race before that horse went on to finish placed in a Grand National.

Great Endeavour is another horse that stands out in the recent winners list of this race as he went on to compete in the Paddy Power Gold Cup after his win in the 2010 renewal, before contesting the Stewart Family Spinal Research Handicap Chase in 2011.

2015 Byrne Group Plate Runners and Form

As the season progresses we will be continually looking at the latest form guides for the 2013 Byrne Group Plate and as soon as the runners are known we will be providing you with a detailed list of who will be taking part in the penultimate race on day three of the Cheltenham Festival.

Recent Winners of Byrne Group Plate

  • 2000 - Dark Stranger
  • 2001 - No Race
  • 2002 - Blowing Wind
  • 2003 - Young Spartacus
  • 2004 - Tikram
  • 2005 - Liberthine
  • 2006 - Non So
  • 2007 - idole First
  • 2008 - Mister McGoldrick
  • 2009 - Something Wells
  • 2010 - Great Endeavour
  • 2011 - Holmwood Legend
  • 2012 - Salut Flo
  • 2013 - Carrickboy
  • 2014 - Ballynagour


Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+

We are committed to supporting Responsible Gambling Initiatives - For additional information visit : GamCare | Gamble Aware | Gamblers Anonymous

Tom Lee's Betting Tips

View the latest racing tips from RTE Racing Presenter Tom Lee.

Read Toms Tips Now

Upcoming Meetings


    View Complete Racing Schedule