We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Buckingham Palace Stakes History

The Buckingham Palace Stakes is a handicap race run at Royal Ascot over seven furlongs for horses aged three years or older.

Run as the last race on day four of the five-day Royal meeting, this contest was introduced when the it was extended to five days and it now gives another chance for horses that just drop below Pattern level to try and bag glory at the flat highlight of the year.

Sometimes used as a stepping stone by trainers to black-type races, the Buckingham Palace Stakes can also attract some of the ageing stars who are gradually falling down the ladder.  Attracting fields in excess of 25 runners, this is widely regarded as one of the most competitive races of the entire meeting and it can throw up some shock results.

Dandy Nicholls' Regal Parade was a surprise 25/1 winner of the race in 2008 and he went on to be a calssy sprinter at Group level, whilst the likes of Binanti, who won at 33/1 and Uhoomagoo at 25/1 show that it can often be difficult for punters to work out who is going to be victorious.

Other notable winners of the Buckingham Palace Stakes include John Gosden's Demonstrate, who was the inaugural winner of the event in 2002, whilst Brian Meehan's Manassas was another eyecatching winner in the 2011 running as the race continued to grow in stature.

Recent Winners of Buckingham Palace Stakes

  • 2002 - Demonstrate
  • 2003 - Attache
  • 2004 - Unscrupulous
  • 2005 - Jedburgh
  • 2006 - Uhoomagoo
  • 2007 - Binanti
  • 2008 - Regal Parade
  • 2009 - Giganticus
  • 2010 - Treadwell
  • 2011 - Manassas
  • 2012 - Eton Forever
  • 2013 - Lightning Cloud
  • 2014 - Louis The Pious