We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Breeders' Cup Turf History - The Fugue Well Fancied

The Breeders' Cup Turf is a Grade One race run over one-and-a-half miles for horses aged three years or older and makes up part of the Breeders' Cup World Championships.

One of the highlights of the two-day festival, the Breeders' Cup Turf has attracted some of the greatest racehorses of recent times from all over the world since its inception in 1984. 

In 1985 the legendary Pebbles, trained in the UK by Clive Brittain managed to become the first British horse ever to win a Breeders' Cup race and since then many horses have travelled over the Atlantic and ventured home with the prize.

Breeders Cup Turf 2013 Odds

  • 9/4 - The Fugue
  • 4/1 - Point Of Entry
  • 13/2 - Magician
  • 6/1 - Little Mike
  • 7/1 - Big Blue Kitten
  • 12/1 - Indy Point
  • 12/1 - Real Solution
  • 20/1 - Twilight Eclipse
  • 20/1 - Vagabond Shoes
  • 25/1 - Teaks North
  • 33/1 - Skyring
  • 50/1 - Tale Of A Champion

All prices and betting supplied by Paddy Power Bookmakers

Pilsudski and Kalanisi won the contest in 1996 and 2000 for Sir Michael Stoute, whilst Aidan O'Brien's dual Derby winner High Chaparral won the 2002 Breeders' Cup Turf, before dead-heatting for first place in 2003 with Johar.

An illustious roll of honour has seen a plethora of British and Irish winners and Stoute managed to re-write the record books as Conduit won in 2008 and retained his title in 2009 to give the Freemasons Lodge handler a record fourth victory in the race.

With eight UK & Irish-trained winners of the race since the turn of the century it certainly is one the Americans will surely want to prise away from their adversaries.

Throughout the season there are a whole host of qualification races for the Breeders' Cup Turf which gain horses an instant invitation to the race.  The current five races that earn you an automatic berth are the United Nations Stakes at Monmouth Park, the Arlington Million, the Irish Champion Stakes from the Curragh, the Champion Stakes from Newmarket and the Canadian International from Woodbine.

Recent Winners of Breeders' Cup Turf

  • 2000 - Kalanisi
  • 2001 - Fantastic Light
  • 2002 - High Chaparral
  • 2003 - High Chaparral/Johar (Dead-Heat)
  • 2004 - Better Talk Now
  • 2005 - Shirocco
  • 2006 - Red Rocks
  • 2007 - English Channel
  • 2008 - Conduit
  • 2009 - Conduit
  • 2010 - Dangerous Midge
  • 2011 - St Nicholas Abbey
  • 2012 - Little Mike