We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Breeders' Cup Turf Sprint History

The Breeders' Cup Turf Sprint is a Grade Two race run over five furlongs for horses aged three years or older and it makes up par of the Breeders' Cup World Championships.

A relatively new addition to the two-day racing festival the Breeders' Cup Turf Sprint was first run in 2008, where the David Hofmans-trained Desert Code was victorious.  Having not been able to be classed as a graded race for the opening two years, it was eventually promoted to Grade Two level and now offers a purse of one million dollars.

The Breeders' Cup Challenge has given horses the chance of automatic qualification to the race and currently the Breeders' Cup Turf Sprint has an array of races that gains the winner an instant invite.

Those races are the Arlington Sprint Handicap at Arlington, the Prix Maurice De Gheest at Deauville, the Manikato Stakes at Moonee Valley, the Morvich Handicap at Santa Anita and the Nearctic Stakes from Woodbine.

California Flag was a dual winner of the Morvich Handicap in 2008 and 2009 gaining qualification for the Breeders' Cup Turf Sprint and in 2009 the Brian Koriner-trained runner went on to bag glory at Santa Anita Park.

Recent Winners of Breeders' Cup Turf Sprint

  • 2008 - Desert Code
  • 2009 - California Flag
  • 2010 - Chamberlain Bridge
  • 2011 - Regally Ready
  • 2012 - Mizdirection