We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Breeders' Cup Ladies Classic History

The Breeders' Cup Ladies Classic is a Grade One race run over one mile, one furlong for fillies and mares aged three years or older and it makes up part of the Breeders' Cup World Championships.

Established in 1984 the race was known as the Breeders' Cup Distaff, but the name was changed in 2007 under the new Breeders' Cup Challenge series. 

The innovative Challenge series has now incorporated automatic qualifiers for a plethora of the Breeders' Cup events and this race is no different as they offer winners of selected races a pass to the Breeders' Cup Ladies Classic.

The races that offer an instant invitation to the race are the Delaware Handicap at Delaware Park, the Ruffian Handicap at Saratoga, the Lady's Secret Stakes at Santa Anita and the Juddmonte Spinster Stakes at Keeneland.

By far in a way the most famous winner of this contest came in 2008 when the wonder mare Zenyatta won the Breeders' Cup Ladies Classic before going on to multiple Group successes including the Breeders' Cup Classic a year later.

However, the most successful mare in this race's history is Bayakoa, who won the race in both 1989 and 1990 for trainer Rod McAnally.

Recent Winners of Breeders' Cup Ladies Classic

  • 2000 - Spain
  • 2001 - Unbridled Elaine
  • 2002 - Azeri
  • 2003 - Adoration
  • 2004 - Ashado
  • 2005 - Pleasant Home
  • 2006 - Round Pond
  • 2007 - Ginger Punch
  • 2008 - Zenyatta
  • 2009 - Life Is Sweet
  • 2010 - Unrivaled Belle
  • 2011 - Royal Delta
  • 2012 - Royal Delta