We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Breeders' Cup Juvenile History

The Breeders' Cup Juvenile is a Grade One race run over eight-and-a-half furlongs for two-year-old colts and geldings and makes up part of the Breeders' Cup World Championships.

Established in 1984, the Breeders' Cup Juvenile is one of the original races on the Breeders' Cup calendar and ever since Chief's Crown won the inaugural running of the event it has grown from strength to strength attracting some of the best youngsters from around the globe.

There have been some excellent winners of this juvenile contest and some have used it as a stepping stone for bigger and better things and none more so than Street Sense, who won this in 2006 before going on to win the Kentucky Derby a year later.

Many have travelled over from the UK and Ireland to contest the race, which is now worth two million dollars, but only a couple have succeeded from these shores and it's no surprise that the Ballydoyle master Aidan O'Brien makes the list.

The Irishman sent over Johannesburg in 2001 and with Michael Kinane in the saddle and the pair stormed to glory to take the trophy back to the Emerald Isle.  Both Jeremy Noseda with Wilko in 2004 and Saeed Bin Suroor in 2009 with Vale of York have also managed to etch their name on the illustrious roll of honour.

Following the inception of the Breeders' Cup Challenge in 2007 a trio of qualifying races were installed and now the winners of those races will gain an automatic invitation to the Breeders' Cup Juvenile.

The races that currently offer an instant place in the race are the Norfolk Stakes from Santa Anita, the Champagne Stakes at Belmont Park and the Breeders' Futurity at Keeneland.

Todd Pletcher's classy Uncle Mo was able to utilise the the qualification races by winning the Champagne Stakes, before bagging Juvenile glory the same season in 2010.

Recent Winners of Breeders' Cup Juvenile

  • 2000 - Macho Uno
  • 2001 - Johannesburg
  • 2002 - Vindication
  • 2003 - Action This Day
  • 2004 - Wilko
  • 2005 - Stevie Wonderboy
  • 2006 - Street Sense
  • 2007 - War Pass
  • 2008 - Midshipman
  • 2009 - Vale of York
  • 2010 - Uncle Mo
  • 2011 - Hansen