We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Breeders' Cup Filly & Mare Turf History

The Breeders' Cup Filly & Mare Turf is a Grade One race run over one-and-a-quarter miles for fillies aged three years or older and makes up part of the Breeders' Cup World Championships.

Established in 1999, the race has now become one of the highlights of the Breeders' Cup extravaganza as some of the leading fillies and mares from all round the world take to the track to battle it out for the two million dollar purse.

The most successful horse in the race's short history is the Ed Dunlop-trained Ouija Board, who managed to win the contest in 2004 and again in 2006.  The UK  have an excellent record in the race as Sir Henry Cecil won the 2009 renewal with the classy Midday.

Jockeys from these shores have a fantastic record in this race too as former champion  Kieren Fallon has won this event twice and British-based riders Frankie Dettori and Tom Queally have lifted the coveted Filly & Mare Turf crown in recent years.

Like many of the other races at the Breeders' Cup this contest now has a few races during the season that hands the winner an instant pass into the Filly & Mare Turf.

Races that gain automatic qualification are the Pretty Polly Stakes from the Curragh, the Beverley D. Stakes from Arlington Park, the John C. Mabee Handicap from Del Mar, the First Lady Stakes at Keeneland and the Yellow Ribbon Stakes at Santa Anita.

In 2008 Forever Together managed to win both the qualifying race at Keeneland before bagging Filly & Mare Turf glory later on in the season for trainer Jonathan Sheppard.

Recent Winners of Filly & Mare Turf

  • 2000 - Perfect Sting
  • 2001 - Banks Hill
  • 2002 - Starine
  • 2003 - Islington
  • 2004 - Ouija Board
  • 2005 - Intercontinental
  • 2006 - Ouija Board
  • 2007 - Lahudood
  • 2008 - Forever Together
  • 2009 - Midday
  • 2010 - Shared Account
  • 2011 - Perfect Shirl
  • 2012 - Zagora