We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Breeders' Cup Filly & Mare Sprint History

The Breeders' Cup Filly & Mare Sprint is a Grade I race run over seven furlongs for fillies and mares aged three years or older and it makes up part of the Breeders' Cup World Championships.

Following the expansion of the Breeders' Cup extravaganza the Filly & Mare Sprint was added to the programme in 2007 and was run over six furlongs, but it was extended by a furlong the year after and has stayed at that distance since.

The Doug O'Neill-trained Maryfield was the inaugural winner of the event under jockey Elvis Trujillo before he was drafted into the Canadian horse racing Hall of Fame.

In 2009 a batch of qualifying races were introduced, so winners of selected races would gain an automatic invitation to the race and contest the Filly & Mare Sprint. 

The races that currently give instant qualification to the event are the Princess Rooney Handicap at Calder racecourse, the Rancho Bernardo Handicap from Del Mar, the Gallant Bloom Handicap from Belmont Park and the Thoroughbred Club of America Stakes that takes place at Keeneland.

Ran on the dirt this contest allows weight for age and it usually attracts a star-studded field as the look to win the one million dollar purse.

Recent Winners of Breeders' Cup Filly & Mare Sprint

  • 2007 - Maryfield
  • 2008 - Ventura
  • 2009 - Informed Decision
  • 2010 - Dubai Majesty
  • 2011 - Musical Romance
  • 2012 - Groupie Doll