We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile History

The Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile is a Grade One race run over a mile for horses aged three years or older and makes up part of the Breeders' Cup World Championships.

Following the expansion of the Breeders' Cup in 2007 it saw the Dirt Mile run for the first time which saw the James Jerkens-trained Corinthian take the inaugural prize of a million dollars.

Two years later the contest was given Grade One status and is yet another contest that attracts a star-studded line-up over the two-day extravaganza.  With the Breeders' Cup Mile attracting the stars of the turf this contest gives the dirt specialists a chance of bagging top level glory and win a huge pot.

Following the introduction of the Breeders' Cup Challenge there are a few qualification races that take place during the season allowing the winner the chance to line up in the Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile.

The races that currently allow the winner an instant invite to the Dirt Mile are the San Diego Handicap from Del Mar, the Kelso Handicap from Belmont Park and the Metropolitan Handicap from Belmont Park.  The aforementioned Corinthian baaged glory in the Metropolitan Handicap before doubling up with Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile success in 2007.

Recent Winners of Breeders' Cup Dirt Mile

  • 2007 - Corinthian
  • 2008 - Albertus Maximus
  • 2009 - Furthest Land
  • 2010 - Dakota Phone
  • 2011 - Caleb's Posse
  • 2012 - Tapizar