We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Breeders' Cup Classic History

The Breeders' Cup Classic is a Grade One race run over one-and-a-quarter miles for horses aged three years or older and makes up part of the Breeders' Cup World Championships.

Possibly the most-eagerly awaited race of the whole US racing calendar the Breeders' Cup Classic attracts the top ten furlong horses from all over the world and with a purse of five million dollars on offer, it's no surprise there is always a stellar line-up.

First ran in 1984 the inaugural race was won by the Vincent Timphony-trained Wild Again and ever since, the race has grown in stature and become one of the world's greatest flat races.

Breeders Cup Classic Betting

  • 11/4 - Game On Dude
  • 4/1 - Mucho Macho Man
  • 11/2 - Fort Larned
  • 8/1 - Declaration Of War
  • 10/1 - Will Take Charge
  • 10/1 - Palace Malice
  • 12/1 - Flat Out
  • 14/1 - Paynter
  • 20/1 - Moreno
  • 25/1 - Planteur
  • 33/1 - Last Gunfighter

All prices and markets supplied by Paddy Power.com

Down the years many have tried to win back-to-back Breeders' Cup Classics and the only horse to achieve the feat is Tiznow who bagged glory in 2000 and retained the title a year late to go down in Breeders' Cup history.

In 2008 John Gosden sent over Raven's Pass and thanks to an expert ride from Frankie Dettori the British challenger was the first to win the coveted prize and prise it away from the US.

However, one horse that is synonymous with the Breeders' Cup Classic is the wonder mare Zenyatta, who was successful for trainer John Shirreffs in 2009 and was just edged a year later by Blame, who fought off a late surge from Zenyatta.

WIth places in the field being like gold dust many horses will contend the qualification events that take place during the season, which allows the winner a direct invitation to the Classic.

The races that provide automatic qualification into the event are the Whitney Handicap at Saratoga, the Washington Park Handicap at Arlington Park, the Pacific Classic Stakes at Del Mar and the Goodwood Stakes at Santa Anita.

Recent Winners of Breeders' Cup Classic

  • 2000 - Tiznow
  • 2001 - Tiznow
  • 2002 - Volponi
  • 2003 - Pleasantly Perfect
  • 2004 - Ghostzapper
  • 2005 - Saint Liam
  • 2006 - Invasor
  • 2007 - Curlin
  • 2008 - Raven's Pass
  • 2009 - Zenyatta
  • 2010 - Blame
  • 2011 - Drosselmeyer
  • 2012 - Fort Larned