Betfair Hurdle History

The Betfair Hurdle is a Grade Three handicap race run at Newbury over two miles, 110 yards for horses aged four years or older.

Origingally known as the Totesport Trophy, the contest is widely regarded as one of the most fiercely-contested handicap hurdles of the whole calendar and can often throw up a future Champion Hurdle prospect.

However, only two horses have managed to win this race before going on to the Cheltenham Festival and win the 2m Tuesday showpiece.  Persian War was the first to achieve the feat in the 1960's before Martin Pipe's Make A Stand won this contest in 1997 before going on to Prestbury Park a month later to lift the Champion Hurdle crown.

More recently the winner of this race has often been kept down the handicap route and are often seen competing in either the Coral Cup or County Hurdle at the Cheltenham Festival.

Geos won this race on two separate occasions in 2000 and 2004 for his trainer Nicky Henderson, who has incidentally got a decent record in this contest having notched up four winners since 1998.

Recent Winners of Betfair Hurdle

  • 2000 - Geos
  • 2001 - Landing Light
  • 2002 - Copeland
  • 2003 - Spirit Leader
  • 2004 - Geos
  • 2005 - Essex
  • 2006 - No Race
  • 2007 - Heathcote
  • 2008 - Wingman
  • 2009 - No Race
  • 2010 - Get Me Out Of Here
  • 2011 - Recession Proof
  • 2012 - Zarkandar
  • 2013 - My Tent Or Yours
  • 2014 - Splash Of Ginge

Tom Lee's Betting Tips

View the latest racing tips from RTE Racing Presenter Tom Lee.

Read Toms Tips Now

Upcoming Meetings


View Complete Racing Schedule