We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Bet365 Gold Cup - 26th April, 2014

Roalco Des Farges stormed to victory at Newbury two starts ago, but he was unable to land any sort of blow in the Scottish Grand National and he will now head to Sandown Park on Saturday afternoon for what is a wide open renewal of the Bet365 Gold Cup.

However, the classy Philip Hobbs-trained raider will have a plethora of leading challengers for the staying event and Nigel Twiston-Davies's Same Difference wasn't disgraced when fifth in the Kim Muir Challenge Cup and he will aim to build on that Cheltenham Festival run in this intriguing event which he was second in last season.

Spring Heeled was victorious in that Kim Muir last month and Jim Culloty's raider may take his chance in this event, but will face a stiff task to follow up that Prestbury Park success, whilst Burton Port will be aiming to bounce back from an early fall in the Grand National and if he can complete the course is attractively handicapped.

Alan King's Godsmejudge ran a stormer when second in the aforementioned Scottish National and he may head to this event that draws the curtain shut on the UK national hunt season, whilst the likes of Bury Parade and Ardkilly Witness are just a brace of potential runners who may feature prominently in the betting.

Of the others, Houblon Des Obeaux is a consistent performer in these sort of events and could be an attractive each-way proposition for many punters, whilst solid stayer Rigadin De Beauchene is another who could feature in what is a cracking heat for punters to enjoy at the weekend.

Latest Betting for 2014 Bet365 Gold Cup

7/1 Same Difference

9/1 Ardkilly Witness

9/1 Roalco Des Farges

10/1 Burton Port

10/1 Godsmejudge

10/1 Spring Heeled

12/1 Bury Parade

12/1 Hadrian's Approach

16/1 Houblon Des Obeaux

16/1 Rigadin De Beauchene

16/1 Summery Justice

20/1 Rose Of The Moon

20/1 Poungach

20/1 Twirling Magnet

20/1 Midnight Appeal

20/1 Carruthers

25/1 Opening Batsmen

25/1 Bally Legend

25/1 Restless Harry

33/1 Emperor's Choice

Open an account with bet365 where you can get £200 worth of Free Bets.

Bet365 Gold Cup History

The Bet365 Gold Cup is a Grade Three Handicap Chase run at Sandown Park over three miles, five-and-a-half furlongs for horses aged five years or older.

Established in 1957, this race has always been widely regarded as the curtain-closer to the national hunt season and is more commonly known as the Whitbread Gold Cup after a strong affiliation with the brand.

Since its early days the race has always attracted some top quality runners and in 1965 the mighty Arkle was victorious as he carried a mind-boggling 12st 7lbs round the course to cement his place as the leading horse ever to have graced the national hunt scene. 

Two years later there was another legendary name to lift the crown as Mill House bagged the race as a ten-year-old and it just highlighted the race's allurement for the major trainers, as the greatest steeplechasers in training were trying to lift the crown.

Often the race sees horses who competed in the Cheltenham Gold Cup a month previous do battle and the roll of honour right through the 1970s and 1980s continued to produce stars.

Desert Orchid won the race in 1988, whilst 1990 Grand National winner Mr Frisk was also victorious in this staying handicap chase to add great depth to the list of winners.

More recently, Ad Hoc was a dual winner of the race in the 2000s for Paul Nicholls, whilst Monkerhostin was another notable winner in what is one of the most eagerly-anticipated races of the entire season.

Recent Winners of Bet365 Gold Cup

  • 2000 - Beau
  • 2001 - Ad Hoc
  • 2002 - Bounce Back
  • 2003 - Ad Hoc
  • 2004 - Puntal
  • 2005 - Jack High
  • 2006 - Lacdoudal
  • 2007 - Hot Weld
  • 2008 - Monkerhostin
  • 2009 - Hennessy
  • 2010 - Church Island
  • 2011 - Poker De Sivola
  • 2012 - Tidal Bay
  • 2013 - Quentin Collonges
Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers using Promo Code P30 only, min £10/€10 stake, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 2 x £15/€15 (30 days expiry), free bet/payment method/player/country restrictions apply. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Open Account Offer. Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code ‘100BET365’ can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way. 18+ begambleaware.org.

We are committed to supporting Responsible Gambling Initiatives - For additional information visit : GamCare | Gamble Aware | Gamblers Anonymous

Tom Lee's Betting Tips

View the latest racing tips from RTE Racing Presenter Tom Lee.

Read Toms Tips Now

Upcoming Meetings


    View Complete Racing Schedule

    We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
    Got It