We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Ascot Stakes History

The Ascot Stakes is a handicap race run at Royal Ascot over two miles, four furlongs for horses aged four years or older.

It may lack the quality of some of the other races during the week, but this test of stamina will not only see the flat-bred horses go to post, but it gives a chance for national hunt horses to line up in a race that is a real stamina test.

Often being targeted by national hunt trainers, the Ascot Stakes will often attract a strong jumping battalion as well as some of the leading stayers on the flat and down the years there has always been a mixture of jumping winners, as well as flat winners.

Martin Pipe was a man who had a decent record in the race and he saddled the winner of the Ascot Stakes on more than one occasion, whilst his son David managed to train the classy Junior to success in the 2010 running before he went on to become the first horse to win at both Royal Ascot and the Cheltenham Festival.

Nicky Henderson then recorded another success for the jumping boys as Veiled stayed on well in the closing stages to land the spoils and no doubt the national hunt horses will continue to revert to the level in order to gain a big race victory.

Taking place on day one, it makes a huge change to the other races on the card which see a plethora of Group One events and allows the punter a whole new process of finding the winner, as there are generally some horses that are more attractively handicapped than the other, making it into a real conundrum for the punters.

Recent Winners of Ascot Stakes

  • 2000 - Supreme Certainty
  • 2001 - Cover Up
  • 2002 - Riyadh
  • 2003 - Sindapour
  • 2004 - Double Obsession
  • 2005 - Leg Spinner
  • 2006 - Baddam
  • 2007 - Full House
  • 2008 - Missoula
  • 2009 - Judgethemoment
  • 2010 - Junior
  • 2011 - Veiled
  • 2012 - Simenon
  • 2013 - Well Sharp
  • 2014 - Domination