We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Ascot Gold Cup History

The Ascot Gold Cup is a Group One race run at Royal Ascot over two miles, four furlongs and is open to horses aged four years or older.

Established in 1802, the Ascot Gold Cup is the most prestigious staying event in the flat racing fixture list and sees the best stayers around competing for Group One glory.

It is the opening leg of the British Stayer's Triple Crown which also includes the Goodwood Cup and Doncaster Cup and Double Trigger was the last to achieve the feat of bagging all three races in 1995 for trainer Mark Johnston.

There have been multiple winners of the Ascot Gold Cup down the years and a legendary stayer who won the race three times during the 1970's was Sagaro for jockey Lester Piggott.  Incidentally, Piggott has an astonishing record in the race as he has amassed 11 victoried during his illustrious career.

A man who has dominated the race since the turn of the century is Ballydoyle master Aidan O'Brien, who has trained five winners of the race since 2006.  This is mainly down to one of the greatest stayers ever to be seen on a racecourse as Yeats dominated the staying ranks during his career.

After winning the 2006 Ascot Gold Cup, Yeats dominated the Royal meeting for the following three years in 2007, 2008 and 2009 to break all records in the event that is staged on day three of Royal Ascot.

Another top class winner who lifted the crown was Fame and Glory who stormed to success in 2011.  The former Irish Derby and Coronation Cup winner was stepped up massively in distance and duly sauntered to victory for O'Brien to bag him his fifth win in six years.

Recent Winners of Ascot Gold Cup

  • 2000 - Kayf Tara
  • 2001 - Royal Rebel
  • 2002 - Royal Rebel
  • 2003 - Mr Dinos
  • 2004 - Papineau
  • 2005 - Westerner
  • 2006 - Yeats
  • 2007 - Yeats
  • 2008 - Yeats
  • 2009 - Yeats
  • 2010 - Rite of Passage
  • 2011 - Fame and Glory
  • 2012 - Colour Vision
  • 2013 - Estimate
  • 2014 - Leading Light