Arkle Challenge Trophy History

The Arkle Challenge Trophy is a Grade One chase run at the Cheltenham Festival over two miles for horses aged five years or older.

Named after arguably one of the best chasers to ever have graced the national hunt game, Arkle, who amassed three Cheltenham Gold Cup wins during the 1960's, the race sees the leading novice chasers go to post to contest the two-mile contest on the opening day of the Festival.

Having been introduced to replace the Cotswold Chase, the Arkle often sees runners who have contested the Champion Hurdle the following year stepping up to the chasing game and trying their hand at the larger obstacles.

Down the years there have been some top class winners of the race including the mighty Flyingbolt, who won the race in 1965 for trainer Tom Dreaper en route to become one of the greatest racehorses in recent memory.

More recently, Moscow Flyer won the 2002 renewal for trainer Jessica Harrington and jockey Barry Geraghty and used it as a springboard to bigger and better things as he went on to win the Queen Mother Champion Chase on two occasions in 2003 and 2005.

Azertyioup was another who emulated Moscow Flyer's feat by winning the Arkle before returning to the Cheltenham Festival to win the Champion Chase.  Sizing Europe was the last to achieve the coveted double after bagging the 2009 Arkle for trainer Henry De Bromhead and no doubt many more will accomplish two-mile chasing dominance in both the novice and top class ranks.

2015 Arkle Challenge Trophy Runners and Form

No doubt certain horses will take to novice chasing from hurdling, whilst some will struggle to make the transition to the larger obstacles, but we will keep on top of the latest form for the two mile contest and closer to the meeting outline the runners.

Recent Winners of Arkle Challenge Trophy

  • 2000 - Tiutchev
  • 2001 - No Race
  • 2002 - Moscow Flyer
  • 2003 - Azertyuiop
  • 2004 - Well Chief
  • 2005 - Contraband
  • 2006 - Voy Por Ustedes
  • 2007 - My Way De Solzen
  • 2008 - Tidal Bay
  • 2009 - Forpadydeplasterer
  • 2010 - Sizing Europe
  • 2011 - Captain Chris
  • 2012 - Sprinter Sacre
  • 2013 - Simonsig
  • 2014 - Western Warhorse

Sunday's Race Odds

1:00 | 1:30 | 2:00 | 2:30 | 3:00 | 3:30
12:40 | 1:10 | 1:40 | 2:10 | 2:40 | 3:10 | 3:40
12:20 | 12:50 | 1:20 | 1:50 | 2:20 | 2:50 | 3:20

Tom Lee's Betting Tips

View the latest racing tips from RTE Racing Presenter Tom Lee.

Read Toms Tips Now

Upcoming Meetings


View Complete Racing Schedule