We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

AP McCoy

Born: 4 May 1974

Nationality: Northern Irish

Champion Jockey: 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012

Notable Race Wins:-

Grand National: Don't Push It (2010)

Cheltenham Gold Cup: Mr Mulligan (1997)

Champion Hurdle: Make A Stand (1997), Brave Inca (2006), Binocular (2010)

Champion Chase: Edredon Bleu (2000)

King George VI Chase: Best Mate (2002)

Career History

Anthony Peter McCoy is widely regarded as the best national hunt jockey of all time having notched up a staggering amount of winners throughout a glittering career.  His will to win is simply staggering and whether it's a Grade One at the Cheltenham Festival or a selling hurdle from Fontwell Park, McCoy will be trying his hardest to bag another victory.

After riding his first winner aboard Legal Steps at Thurles in 1992, he served as an apprentice at Jim Bolger's flat yard before making the big step to cross the Irish Sea and pave a career in the UK, a step he made in 1994.

It was a decision that would shape his career for ever and he immediately got off to a terrific start riding 74 winners in his opening season in the UK.  His partnership with legendary trainer Martin Pipe was to become one of the greatest to have graced the national hunt game and the duo would breed success throughout the 1990's and 2000's.

It was the 1995/1996 season that McCoy really stamped his authority on the weighing room as he rode 175 winners in the campaign bagging his first champion jockey title, an award he would continue to win throughout his career.

At the 1997 Cheltenham Festival McCoy was to achieve a feat rarely done in national hunt racing as he rode Make A Stand to win the Champion Hurdle and then later on in the week rode Mr Mulligan to victory in the Cheltenham Gold Cup for an almighty double.

Still McCoy was dominating the jumping world and continued racking up champion jockey titles into the new Millennium, with fellow jockey Richard Johnson generally finishing second.  In the early 2000's McCoy rode a staggering 289 winners in one season and became the most successful national hunt jockey of all time surpassing Richard Dunwoody's riding record.

After hundreds of winners together, McCoy elected to stand down as stable jockey for Martin Pipe in 2004 and eventually moved to fellow top trainer Jonjo O'Neill, where he would also be the retained jockey for multi-millionaire owner JP McManus.

Nevertheless, this didn't stop McCoy's dominance in the saddle and in January 2004 the Northern Irishman rode his 2000th winner aboard Magical Bailiwick at Wincanton.

Brave Inca's win in the 2006 Champion Hurdle was another of McCoy's Blue Riband successes, but there was one race that eluded the great man until 2010.  Backed into favouritism on the day, McCoy was riding in his 15th Grand National aboard Don't Push It for JP McManus and in joyous scenes at Aintree, McCoy cajoled his mount home to win the marathon and complete his dream.

This had propelled McCoy into the public eye and there was no surprise that the great man was honoured by the sporting world and was voted Sports Personality of The Year for 2010.

Still to this day the 16-times champion jockey has the burning desire to be successful and he continues to break boundaries and is still adding to his winners tally that now stands at 4000 after Mountain Tunes won on November 7, 2013 at Towcester.

Other Leading National Hunt Jockeys

Ruby Walsh

Richard Johnson

Barry Geraghty

Timmy Murphy


Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers using Promo Code P30 only, min £10/€10 stake, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 2 x £15/€15 (30 days expiry), free bet/payment method/player/country restrictions apply. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Open Account Offer. Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code ‘100BET365’ can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way. 18+ begambleaware.org.

We are committed to supporting Responsible Gambling Initiatives - For additional information visit : GamCare | Gamble Aware | Gamblers Anonymous

Tom Lee's Betting Tips

View the latest racing tips from RTE Racing Presenter Tom Lee.

Read Toms Tips Now

Upcoming Meetings


    View Complete Racing Schedule

    We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
    Got It